Fall 2017 Concert




October 15, 2017
J. Don Coleman, conductor
Mary Texer, accompanist

Elijah (Felix Mendelssohn)

Part I (Disc #1)

1. Introduction – Elijah: “As God the Lord of Israel liveth”
2. Overture – The People: “Help, Lord!”
3. Duet & Chorus: “Low bow thine ear”
4. Obadiah: “Ye people, rend your hearts and not your garments.”
5. Elijah: “As God the Lord of Sabaoth liveth”
Ahab: “Art thou Elijah?” “Art thou he that troubleth Israel?”
The Court: “Thou art Elijah; he that troubleth Israel?”
Elijah: “I never troubled Israel’s peace.”
The Court: “And then we shall see whose God is God the Lord!”
Elijah: “Rise then, ye priests of Baal.”
The People: “Yea; and the God who by fire shall answer, let HIM be God!
Elijah: “Call first upon YOUR god.
6. Priests of Baal: “Baal we cry to thee!”
7. Elijah: “Call him louder, for he is god!”
Prophets of Baal: “Hear our cry, oh Baal!”
8. Elijah: “Call him louder. He heareth not.”
Prophets of Baal: “Give an answer Baal!”
9.Elijah: “Draw near, all ye people. Come to me!”
Elijah: “Lord God of Abraham Isaac and Israel”
10.Chorus of Psalmists: “Cast thy burden upon the Lord”
11. Elijah: “Oh Thou, who makest Thine angels Spirits”
The People: “The fire descends from heaven!”
Elijah: “Take all the prophets of Baal”
12. Elijah: “Is not His word like a fire”
13. A Voice: “Woe unto them who forsake Him!”
14. Obadiah: “Oh man of God, help thy people.”
Elijah and the People: “O Lord, Thou hast overthrown Thine enemies and destroyed them.”
Elijah: “Go up now, child, and look toward the sea.” “Hath my prayer been heard by the Lord?”
The Youth: “There is nothing. The heavens are as brass above me.”
Elijah: “When the heavens are closed up because they have sinned against Thee.”
The People: ” Then hear from heaven and forgive the sin. Help, Thy servant! Help, oh God!”
Elijah: “Go up again and still look toward the sea.”
The Youth: “There is nothing. The earth is an iron under me.”
15. “Behold, A little cloud ariseth now.” “Thanks be to God for all His mercies!” “Thanks be to God!”

Part II (Disc #2)

1. A Voice: “Hear ye, Israel”
Chorus of Psalmists: “Be not afraid!”
2. Elijah: “The Lord hath exalted thee”
Queen Jezebel: “Have ye not heard?”
3. The People: “Woe to him!”
4. Obadiah: “Man of God”
Elijah: “Though stricken, they have not grieved.”
5. Elijah: “It is enough!”
A Voice: “See, now he sleepeth”
6. The Cherubic Hose: “Lift thing eyes”
7. Chorus of Angels: “He, watching over Israel”
8. An Angel: “Arise Elijah”
Elijah: “O Lord, I have labored in vain.”
9. An Angel: “O rest in the Lord”
10. Chorus of Angels: “He that shall endure to the end, shall be saved.”
11. Elijah: “Night falleth round me”
An Angel: “Arise now”
12. Elijah: “I go on my way in the strength of the Lord.
13. Narrative Chorus: “Then did Elijah the prophet break forth like a fire.”
14. A Voice: “Then shall the righteous shine forth”
15. Chorus: “And then shall your light break forth”


The Prophet Elijah: Adrian Smith
Obadiah, Governor of the House of Ahab: Paul Van Breemen
An Angel of the Lord: Emily Buckland
Queen Jezebel: Allison Deters